2017 FIFA Confederations Cup and the Preparations

The FIFA confederations cup is a tournament which set as a prelude to an FIFA World Cup. The tournament is organized a year to the FIFA World Cup. The next FIFA World Cup will be held in Russia on 2018 and as the custom demands the FIFA Confederations needs to take place in Russia on 17 June to 2 July 2017. The aim of the Confederations Cup is to test the readiness of the host country of the upcoming world cup. The completed facilities which will be used for the main world cup are also tested and if there is an error, it is corrected immediately from occurring in the World Cup. The Confederations cup is an important tournament because it sets as a prelude to the world cup and the preparedness of the host country in all scopes of the upcoming FIFA World Cup. 
2017 FIFA Confederations Cup and the Preparations

The confederations was started in Saudi Arabia in 1992 and it was called the King Fahd Cup. King Fahd Cup was played by confederation winners of each of the FIFA Confederations. In 1997 FIFA took charge of the King Fahd Cup and branded it as FIFA Confederations Cup. Initially the Confederations cup was played every two years but after the Japan-Korea confederations cup in 2002, FIFA changed the number of years from two to four. The Germany 2005 confederations cup was the first edition of four years tournament.

Previous Winners

2017 FIFA Confederations Cup
• Brazil: Winners in the 1997, 2005, 2009 and 2013. Runner up in 1999.
• France: Winners in 2001 and 2003.
• Argentina: Winner in 1992 and Runners up in 1995 and 2005.
• Mexico: Winner in 1999. Third place in 1995.
• USA: Runner up in 2009. Third place in 1992 and 1999.
• Australia: Runner up in 1997. Third place in 2001
• Saudi Arabia: Runner up in 1992
• Japan: Runner up in 2001.
• Cameroon: Runner up in 2003.

Eligibility to Participate
The eight competing teams will be the host nation, the reigning FIFA World Cup champions, and the six holders of the
FIFA confederation championships. If any team qualifies for multiple berths (such as, if the World Cup champions also won their continental championship), the next best placed team from their continental championship qualifies.
These are the qualified countries;

2017 FIFA Confederations Cup Preparations

Russia (UEFA)
Russia secured their qualification as host country to the FIFA Confederations when they were appointment on 2 December 2010 to host the 2018 FIFA World Cup.

Germany (UEFA)
Germany qualified on the basis of winning the 2014 FIFA World Cup. On 13 July 2014, Germany defeated Argentina by a lone goal in the 2014 world cup finals.

Australia (AFC)
Australia qualified to the 2017 confederationa cup as winners of the AFC Asian Cup in 31 January 2015. Australia defeated South Korea by two goals to one to seal their spot in the confederations Cup.

Chile got the rights to represent in their first confederations cup as winners of the 2015 Copa America. In the finals held on 4 July 2015, Chile won by four goals to two on penalties against Argentina.

Mexico is representing CONCACAF in the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup. Mexico defeated the United States of America in a playoff game on 10 October 2015 by 3 goals to 2 after extra time to earn the qualification rights.

New Zealand (OFC)
New Zealand qualified for their fourth FIFA Confederations on 11 June 2016 as winners of the OFC Nations Cup. In the finals, New Zealand defeated Papua New Guinea 4-2 on penalties to secure their spot.

Portugal (UEFA)
Portugal qualified historically to 2017 Confederations cup which was a debut qualification for Portugal. Portugal qualified  by defeating France in the UEFA Euro 2016 finals. Portugal won the game game by a lone goal after the extra time.

The eighth country to make up the number will be the winner of the 2017 African Cup of Nations. The finals of the African Cup of Nations will be played on 5 February 2017 so until then, the African representative is still vacant for Confederations.

The 8 qualified teams are ranked, with a draw, in two round-robin groups. Two teams of same confederation cannot be drawn in a group except if there are three teams of the same confederation, something that will happen for the first time in the 2017 edition with Russia(host), Germany(world cup champions), and Portugal(European cup champions). Every team faces others once, for three games. The group stage is followed by a knockout phase.
First Semifinals: 1st placed group A vs 2nd placed group B
First Semi Finals: 1st placed group B vs 2nd placed group A

Third place playoff: Loser 1st semifinal vs Loser 2nd semifinal

Final: Winner 1st semifinal vs Winner 2nd semifinal

Four cities will serve as the venues for the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup. All four venues will also be among the 12 used for the 2018 FIFA World Cup. The Cities and stadiums are as follows;
• Saint Petersburg.
Krestovsky Stadium, 68,134 capacity.
• Kazan.
Kazan Arena, 45,379 capacity.
• Moscow.
Otkrytiye Arena, 45,360 capacity.
• Sochi.
Fisht Olympic Stadium, 47,659.

The draw is scheduled to take place on 26 November 2016 at the Tennis Academy in the city of Kazan. The draw will ensure that all the teams are placed in groups and each country will know its city and stadium for which they will play their games. The group stage of the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup will take place from 17–25 June 2017. Each team will play three games, with the winners and runners-up from each group advancing to the knockout stage. The semifinals of the confederations cup will be played on 28 and 29 June 2017 and the third place game and final game will be played the same day on 2 July 2017.

SportsGoogly will keep you informed and engaged in the upcoming FIFA Confederations Cup so your only choice for any information about the confederations cup is here.