Glo-CAF awards 2016, The Nominees

The Confederations of African Football organizes an award competition which for sponsorship reasons is called the Glo CAF awards. The Glo-CAF awards are dedicated to honoring all African sports personalities both on the African continent and outside the continent and the biggest award at the ceremony is the African Footballer of the year. The African Footballer of the Year award is presented to the best African footballer each year and it has been conferred by the Confederation of African Football (CAF) since 1992. An earlier African Footballer of the Year Golden Ball award was given out between 1970 and 1994 by France Football magazine. The changes resulted in parallel Golden Ball awards given out to Abedi Pele and George Weah in 1993 and 1994 by the magazine although the CAF sponsored awards for those years were won respectively by Rashidi Yekini and Emmanuel Amunekeas well as two awards given to Abedi Pelé in 1992. France Football discontinued the election from 1995 after the European Ballon d’Or also awarded by the magazine – had been opened to all players in the European leagues. The Glo-CAF 2016 Awards Gala will be held on Thursday, 5 January 2017 in Abuja, Nigeria.

 Glo-CAF awards 2016, The Nominees

The confederation of African Football has increased the voting college of the people who will take part in electing the best players of the tournament. This is the constitution of the electoral Electoral College for the voting process.

The Electoral Colleges are:
1. Members of the CAF Media Committee
2. Members of the CAF Technical and Development Committee
3. Panel of 20 experts (Journalists, TV consultants)
4. Member Associations (Head Coaches of National Team ‘A’ or National Technical Directors

For the two main awards, African Player of the Year and African Player of the Year –
Based in Africa, all four components of the Electoral College (listed above) will be involved in the selection process which has been classified into two phases.

Colleges 1,2 and Half of 3 will be involved in Phase 1, whilst Colleges 4 and half of 3 for Phase 2.

For the other award categories, only 1, 2 and 3 will take part in the selection of the eventual

  • These are the members of theCAF media committee:
    Anjorin Moucharafou(Benin), Kwesi Nyantakyi(GhanaVice),Mustapha Badri(Morocco), Aicha Falode(Nigeria),Joao Lusevikueno(Angola), Bertrand Kabore(Burkina Faso), Amedee Assi Adon(Cote d’Ivoire), Andy Quamie(Liberia), Rabe Nathalie(Madagascar), Nzil’a Fanan’ Amik(RD Congo), Berdja Abdelkader(Algeria), Pape Toure(Senegal), Sohounde Felix Peperipe(Benin), Amadou Diouldé Diallo(Guinea) and Mohammed Makrouf(Morocco)
  • Here are members of the CAF technical and development committee:
    Suketu Patel(Seychelles), Kalusha Bwalya( Zambia), Adoum Djibrine(Chad), Magdi Shams El Din(Sudan), Ibrahima Sory Conte(Guinea), Yusuf Ahmed(Nigeria), Mohamed Abdallah Magzoub(Sudan), Fran Smith(South Africa), Francis Oti-Akenteng(Ghana), Nasser Larguet(Morocco), Khalilou Fadiga( Senegal), Watson Suubi Edgar(Uganda)

This is the 30 Man Shortlist of the African Footballer of the Year.

Glo-CAF awards 2016, The Nominees
1. Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Leicester City)
2. El Arabi Hillel Soudani (Algeria & Dinamo Zagreb)
3. Islam Slimani (Algeria & Leicester City)
4. Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon & Antalyaspor)
5. Benjamin Mounkandjo (Cameroon & Lorient)
6. Serge Aurier (Cote d’Ivoire & PSG) 7. Eric Bailly (Cote d’Ivoire & Manchester United)
8. Yao Kouasi Gervais ‘Gervinho’ (Cote d’Ivoire & Hebei Fortune)
9. Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Roma) 10. Mohamed El Neny (Egypt & Arsenal)
11. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Dortmund)
12. Andre Ayew (Ghana & West Ham)
13. Victor Wanyama (Kenya & Tottenham)
14. William Jebor (Liberia & Wydad Athletic Club)
15. Mehdi Benatia (Morocco & Juventus)
16. Hakim Ziyech (Morocco & Ajax) 17. John Mikel Obi (Nigeria & Chelsea)
18. Kelechi Iheanacho (Nigeria & Manchester City)
19. Ahmed Musa (Nigeria & Leicester City)
20. Cedric Bakambu (DR Congo & Villareal)
21. Yannick Bolasie (DR Congo & Everton)
22. Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)
23. Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal & Napoli)
24. Keegan Dolly (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns)
25. Itumeleng Khune (South Africa & Kaizer Chiefs)
26. Mbwana Samatta (Tanzania & Genk)
27. Aymen Abdennour Tunisia & Valencia)
28. Wahbi Khazri (Tunisia & Sunderland)
29. Dennis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)
30. Khama Billiat (Zimbabwe & Mamelodi Sundowns).

This is the 25 Man Shortlist of the African Footballer of the Year based in Africa.

Glo-CAF awards 2016, The Nominees

1. Dennis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)
2. Itumeleng Khune (South Africa & Kaizer Chiefs)
3. Aymen Mathlouthi (Tunisia & Etoile du Sahel)
4.  Joel Kimwaki (DR Congo & TP Mazembe)
5.  Joyce Lomalisa (DR Congo & AS Vita)
6.  Salif Coulibaly (Mali & TP Mazembe)
7. Ali Gabr (Egypt & Zamalek)
8. Keegan Dolly (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns)
9. Jackson Mwanza (Zambia & Zesco United)
10. Rainford Kalaba (Zambia & TP Mazembe)
11.  Elia Meschak (DR Congo & TP Mazembe)
12. Aymen Hefny (Egypt & Zamalek)
13. Morgan Betorangal (Chad & MO Bejaia)
14. Hlompho Kekana (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns)
15. Hamza Lahmar (Tunisia & Etoile du Sahel)
16. Jesse Were (Kenya & Zesco United)
17.  Idris Mbombo (DR Congo & Zesco United)
18.  Chisom Chikatara (Nigeria & Wydad Athletic Club)
19.  William Jebor (Liberia & Wydad Athletic Club)
20. Reda Hajhouj (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)
21. Fabrice Nguessi Ondama (Congo & Wydad Athletic Club)
22.  Mfon Udon (Nigeria & Enyimba)
23.  Bassem Morsi (Egypt & Zamalek)
24. Khama Billiat (Zimbabwe & Mamelodi Sundowns)
25. Yannick Zakri (Cote d’Ivoire & Mamelodi Sundowns)

These will be the other awards on the night: Women’s Player of the year, National Team of the Year, Club of the Year, Coach of the Year, Women’s National Team of the Year, Youth Player of the Year and the Most Promising Talent