2017 World Baseball Classic –Team divisions & Squads News

Operated by World Baseball Classic Inc. under the directions of Major League Baseball and Major League Baseball Players Association, the 2017 World Baseball Classic will be the fourth of its kind. A total of sixteen teams will be the participants in this years’ event. Both Colombia and Israel will be making their first appearance in the 2017 World Baseball Classic while Dominican Republic will be defending the title won back in 2013. Before 2013, both 2006 and 2009 event were won by Japan. 2017 World Baseball Classic however remains open as all teams are well determined to clinch the title.

2017 World Baseball Classic teams

Starting from March 6th, 2017 World Baseball Classic will be played in seven different cities. The first round of the games will be organized at Seoul, Tokyo, Miami and Jalisco. While Tokyo and San Diego hold the responsibility of arranging the second round. The championship round of the 2017 World Baseball Classic will be played at Los Angeles. Out of sixteen, twelve teams are selected on the basis of their performance in the first round of 2013 World Baseball Classic. While the rest four teams have made it to the main event by winning the qualification tournaments held earlier this year.

2017 World Baseball Classic Team Rosters

With still a two months to go in the starting of the event, the team line ups have not been completed yet. Furthermore the sides that have announced their squads for the event are mere predicted and will take some time to be finalized. So far the squads from the teams announced for 2017 World Baseball Classic are as under;

Japan South Korea Israel United States Colombia Dominican Republic Mexico
Ryo Akiyoshi

Hirotoshi Masui

Naoki Miyanishi

Takahiro Norimoto

Shohei Otani

Tomoyuki Sugano

Shota Ohno

Motohiro Shima

Ryosuke Kikuchi

Nobuhiro Matsuda

Sho Nakata

Hayato Sakamoto

Tetsuto Yamada

Shogo Akiyama

Seiya Suzuki

Yoshitomo Tsutsugoh

Seiichi Uchikawa


Cha Woo-chan

Chang Si-hwan

Jang Won-jun

Kim Kwang-hyun

Lee Hyun-seung

Lee Yong-chan

Lim Chang-yong

Lim Jung-woo

Park Hee-soo

Rhee Dae-eun

Won Jong-hyun

Woo Kyu-min

Yang Hyeon-jong

Kim Tae-goon

Yang Eui-ji

Heo Kyung-min

Jung Keun-woo

Kim Ha-sung

Kim Jae-ho

Kim Tae-kyun

Lee Dae-ho

Park Suk-min

Seo Geon-chang

Choi Hyung-woo

Kym Hyun-soo

Lee Yong-kyu

Min Byung-heon

Choo Shin-soo

Corey Baker

Jeremy Bleich

Jon Moscot

Josh Zeid

Ryan Lavarnway

Ike Davis

Ty Kelly

Danny Valencia

Cody Decker

Sam Fuld

Chris Archer

Mychal Givens

Luke Gregerson

Andrew Miller

Marcus Stroman

Jonathan Lucroy

Buster Posey

Nolan Arenado

Matt Carpenter

Brandon Crawford

Paul Goldschmidt

Eric Hosmer

Ian Kinsler

Daniel Murphy

Adam Jones

Andrew McCutchen

Christian Yelich

William Cuevas

Greg Nappo

José Quintana

Julio Teherán

Dilson Herrera

Reynaldo Rodríguez

Adrián Sánchez

Dellin Betances

Álex Colomé

Alex Reyes

Adrián Beltré

Robinson Canó

Manny Machado

José Reyes

Nelson Cruz

Starling Marte

Gregory Polanco

Jaime García

Miguel González

Roberto Osuna

Sergio Romo

Joakim Soria

Fernando Salas

Óliver Pérez

Carlos Torres

Adrián González

Japhet Amador

Danny Espinosa

Brandon Laird

Khris Davis


2017 World Baseball Classic Pool Composition

2017 World Baseball Classic schedule

The 16 teams participating in 2017 world baseball classics have been classified into four pools, each comprising of four teams. Pool composition for the participant teams goes as under.

Pool A Pool B Pool C Pool D
South Korea

Chinese Taipei







United States



Dominican Republic



Puerto Rico











The event will officially kick off from March 6th 2017 with Israel and Korea going against each other in Pool A at Seoul. All matches will be broadcasted live through MLB Network in the whole of United States. For the ticketing and complete schedule of the matches go here.