Top Ten Tour de France Winners – By Nationality

Tour de France Tour de France winnersProfessional cyclists’ ultimate glory, the splendor track ever at time, the Tour de France is almost here with its 2015th version. The most prestigious of cycling’s three Grand Tours, Tour de France has always been very generous with highlighting the Tour de France winners name as well as career. Either individually or nation-wise, each of the Tour de France winners covers approx. 35000 km of pure glory and fame every time. Tour de France winners are usually divided into categories. The general classification, points classification, mountain classification and so on. Tour de France winners in general classification are known as the yellow jersey winners as well. Similarly those who win the mountain classification and points classification are awarded with polka dotted and green jerseys respectively. The following Tour de France winners list covers only general classification winners. The rules for the participants are quite simple. The race is broken into day-long segments, called stages. Individual finishing times for each stage are totaled to determine the overall winner at the end of the race. However the course changes every year, but has always finished in Paris.

As for the statistical records, the host countries France and Belgium dominate the Tour de France winners list. Though the current champion is not French but French cyclists have won the most number of Tour de France. The 21 French cyclists have won the title 37 times. Following the France the second most Tour de   that few cyclists in the list who initially won the title were stripped of their titles subsequently due to doping policy violations. These include Lance Armstrong, the winner of seven consecutive tours between 1999 and 2005 as well. The full list of Tour de France winners by nationality goes as follows;

Tour de France Winners by Nationality (General classification)

Country No of Wins Winning Cyclists
France 36 21
Belgium 18 10
Spain 12 07
Italy 10 07
Luxemburg 05 04
United States 03 01
Netherlands 02 02
Switzerland 02 02
United Kingdom 02 02
Denmark 01 01