The Evolution of ICC Cricket World Cup Trophy

The ICC cricket world cup trophy is most prestigious and significant trophy in cricket world. It is presented to the winners of the World Cup finals. The current trophy was created for the 1999 championships, and was the first permanent prize in the tournament’s history.  Prior to this, different trophies were made for each World Cup. Here is the brief overview of the evolution of ICC cricket world cup trophy.

Prudential World Cups (1975–1983)Prudential World Cups

The first three editions of world cup (1975, 1979 and 1983) were held in England. These world cups were better known as Prudential Cups after the sponsors Prudential plc.  Prudential plc a UK-based financial services company designed the trophy. Similar trophies were lifted by Clive Lloyd in 1975 and 1979 and by Kapil Dev in 1983. In 2008 on their silver jubilee of world cup win, India is re-awarded the Prudential Cup trophy.

Reliance World Cup Trophy (1987)Reliance World Cup Trophy

The 4th edition of ICC cricket world cup was hosted by Indian subcontinent. The tournament was named the Reliance World cup after the name of Indian sponsors. Allan Border of Australia lifted the trophy in 1987.

Benson and Hedges Cup Trophy (1992)Benson and Hedges Cup Trophy

In 1992 the world cup moved to continent Australia. Australia and New Zealand collectively hosted the tournament. The world cup was sponsored by Benson and Hedges and the trophy was called Benson and Hedges Cup. It was made of crystal and remains the only trophy to have no metal at all. Before introduction of official ICC cricket world cup trophy, perhaps, it was the most dashing cup. Imran Khan lifted the trophy Melbourne cricket ground.

Wills World Cup Trophy (1996)Wills World Cup Trophy

The 1996 world cup was again held in Indian subcontinent, India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka jointly featured the tournament. The trophy of that tournament too named on the name of sponsors. This time it is Wills and trophy was named Wills World Cup trophy. Sri Lanka went on to win their maiden championship by defeating Australia by seven wickets in the final held in Lahore.

ICC Cricket World Cup Trophy (1999-present)ICC cricket world cup trophy

It took ICC a long 24 years period to introduce a unique, permanent trophy for the tournament which they intended to make it the prize for subsequent World Cups. It was first time introduced in 1999 world cup. Australia won the tournament by beating Pakistan in the final match. The ICC Cricket world cup trophy was crafted and designed by a team of craftsmen from London-based Garrard and Co (aka Crown Jewelers) who completed the job in two months.

The ICC Cricket world cup trophy is composed of silver and gold. It weighs 11 kg and stands 60 cm height. It was designed platonic dimensions so that one can recognize it from any angle. The most striking feature of the new trophy is a golden globe held up by three columns. The columns, shaped as stumps and balls, represent the three fundamental aspects of cricket—batting, bowling and fielding—while the globe characterizes a cricket ball. The name of the previous champions are engraves on the base of trophy.

The original trophy is kept by the ICC. A replica, which is identical in all aspects apart from the inscription of the previous champions, is permanently awarded to the winning team. The original trophy had the ICC logo on it, while the replica awarded to the team has the event logo.