Top 10 Highest Wicket-Takers in T-20 Internationals

T-20 cricket is the shortest and probably most popular form of cricket. It is considered that this format is designed for batsmen. It is not easy for a bowler to restrict any batsman to get runs especially when he has just 20 overs. But bowlers also play their significant role to make T-20 cricket the most charming and famous format of cricket. T-20 Internationals have been played since 2005. 20 nations including 10 test playing nations have been played twenty-20 internationals since 2005.

If we take a look at the role of bowlers in T-20 cricket, we’ll find that bowlers are effectively playing their role in T-20 cricket. Lesith Malinga, Dale Styne, Saeed Ajmal, Sunil Narine are some of the most successful bowlers in T-20 cricket. Pakistanis are well-known for their best bowling attack in every format of cricket. They always had genuine fast bowling as well as best spin-bowling attack throughout the history. Just like other format of cricket Pakistani bowlers are at top position in T-20 format too. If we check the list of highest wicket-takers in T-20 cricket, 1st three positions are occupied by Pakistani bowlers. And four Pakistani bowers are present in top 10 highest wicket-takers in T-20 internationals. Presence of four bowlers in top 10 highest wicket-takers in t-20 cricket indicates the quality of Pakistani bowlers in this format of cricket. Here is the full list of top 10 highest wicket-takers in t-20 internationals.

Top 10 Highest Wicket-Takers in T-20 Internationals

1. Shahid Afridi 97

Shahid Afridi Highest Wicket-Takers in T-20The skipper of Pakistan T-20 squad Shahid Khan Afridi is at No 1 in the list of highest wicket-takers in T-20 internationals. Afridi has taken 97 wickets in 96 T-20 internationals. One of the biggest entertainers in cricket has already retired from test and 50-overs cricket and has a plan to leave all kinds of international cricket after 2016 T-20 world cup.

Boom Boom Afridi is also one of the leading wicket-takers in ODIs. He also holds the record of most sixes in International cricket. Former world record holder of fastest century in ODIs Shahid Khan Afridi is truly a legend who gave cricket a new touch.

2.Umar Gul 85

Umar Gul Highest Wicket-Takers in T-20Umar Gul is 2nd spot in top 10 highest wicket-takers in T-20 cricket with 85 wickets in 59 matches. It was a time when Umar Gul is considered one of the most dangerous T-20 bowlers. Especially his swinging Yorkers are extremely painful for batsmen in death overs. His best bowling figure is 5 wickets for just six runs is proof of his extra-ordinary performance in T-20 internationals. This was Umar Gul along with his companions who led Pakistan in final of 1st T-20 world cup and to the title in 2nd T-20 world cup. Gul is struggling with injuries and form in these days. Hopefully he’ll come back before T-20 world cup 2016 with full action.

3. Saeed Ajmal 85

Saeed Ajmal Highest Wicket-Takers in T-20Pakistani Magician Saeed Ajmal is the top wicket-taker in T-20 cricket. Saeed Ajmal was banned by ICC for illegal action in September 2014. He made his come-bake after World Cup 2015 with changed action. And he is not so effective with new action. But the damage has been done. He has taken 85 wickets in 63 innings of 64 matches. His best bowling in T-20 format is 4 wickets with the expense of 19 runs.

4. Lasith Malinga 78

Lasith Malinga Highest Wicket-Takers in T-20Sri Lankan weird action bowler Lasith Malinga is another successful bowler in the best T-20 bowlers list. He ranked at No. 4 in highest wicket-takers in T-20 cricket. He is famous for his round-arm bowling action. Malinga is one of the most dangerous fast-bowers of T-20 format. Particularly his fast and furious toe-crusher Yorkers are more lethal. He has taken 78 wickets in 62 T-20 internationals. His best performance is 5 wickets for 31 runs.

5. Ajantha Mendis 66

Ajantha Mendis Highest Wicket-Takers in T-20Sri Lankan mystery spinner, Ajantha Mendis just behind Lasith Maliga in the race of highest wicket-takers in T-20 internationals. He has taken 66 wickets. Mendis also kept the record of best bowling in T-20 internationals. He took 6 wickets for just 8 runs against Zimbabwe in 2012 world cup. He is the only bowler who has taken six wicket hauls in two T-20 internationals.

6. Stuart Broad 65

Stuart Broad Highest Wicket-Takers in T-20England’s fast bowler Stuart Broad is notorious in T-20 cricket for being hit six sixes in one over. Indian hard-hitter Yuvraj Singh smashed six sixes in an over. He is also England’s leading wicket taker in T-20 internationals. In overall he ranked no 6 in highest wicket-takers in T-20 internationals.

7. Shakib Al Hasan 61shakib al hasan The legend cricketers

The Bangladesh’s all-rounder is also in the top 10 list with 61 wickets. Shakib Al Hasan always played a vital role in the current success of Bengal Tigers not only with bat but also with ball.

8. Dale Steyn 57

Dale Steyn Highest Wicket-Takers in T-20South African bowling machine Dale Steyn is at no 7 in the list of most wicket-takers in T-20 internationals with 57 wickets. Dale Steyn is one of the fastest bowlers in cricket’s history and perhaps most aggressive bowler in current cricket.

8. Nathan McCullum 57

Nathan McCullum Highest Wicket-Takers in T-20The Black Caps all-rounder Nathan Leslie McCullum is at No. 8 in most wicker-takers in T-20Is. Nathan is a right arm off break bowler and right hand lower-order batsman. He has picked 52 wickets in shortest version of internationals cricket.

9. Nuwan Kulasekara 55

Nuwan Kulasekara Highest Wicket-Takers in T-20At 10th position in the list of highest wicket takers in T-20 internationals is Sri Lankan medium fast bowler Nuwan Kulasekara along with Pakistani All-rounder Mohammad Hafeez. Nuwan has taken 55 wickets in 48 matches. His best bowling figure is 4 wickets for 32 runs.

10. Graeme Swann 51

Graeme Swann Highest Wicket-Takers in T-20Former English spinner Graeme Swann has taken 51 wickets in 38 T-20 internationals. He ranked No 9 in highest wicket-takers in T-20 internationals. Swann announced his retirement from all cricket on 21 December 2013.