Most Sixes in an Innings of ODIs by a Batsman

Most sixes in an innings of ODIs is about those dangerous and explosive hard-hitter batsmen, who smashed highest sixes in ODI cricket. In the history of one day international cricket, three batsmen jointly hold the record of most sixes in an innings. These are Indian opener Rohit Sharma, Protease wicket-keeper batsman AB de Villiers and West Indian dangerous hard-hitter Chris Gayle. All three batsmen have slapped 16 sixes in an innings of ODI cricket.

Rohit Sharma most sixes in an innings of ODIs
Rohit Sharma smashed 16 sixes in an innings of ODIs against Australia. The match was played on 2nd November 2013 at Bangalore. He scored 209 runs at 158 balls with a strike rate of 132.27. This was his first double century in ODI cricket.

AB de Villiers most sixes in an innings Mr. 360o AB de Villiers knocked another blistering innings in ODIs history garnished with 16 sixes against West Indies at Johannesburg on 18th January 2015. He smashed 149 runs at just 44 balls. In that particular match he also scored fastest century in ODIs and fastest fifty in ODIs. AB de Villiers scored 149 runs at 44 balls with a marvelous strike rate of 338.63.


Chris Gayle a batsman hit most sixes in an innings of ODIsOn 24 February 2015, in ICC Cricket world cup 2015 West Indies were facing Zimbabwe in pool match at Canberra. The left-handed opener Chris Gayle played a destructive innings of 215 runs at 147 balls. He smashed 16 sixes and 10 fours in his mind-blowing innings. He also became the first batsman who scored double hundred in the history of ICC Cricket world cup. He also holds the record of highest individual scores in world cup history.

Most Sixes in an Innings of ODIs by a Batsman

Sixes Player Runs Team Opposition Match Date
16 Chris Gayle 215 West Indies Zimbabwe 24 Feb 2015
16 AB de Villiers 149 South Africa West Indies 18 Jan 2015
16 Rohit Sharma 209 India Australia 2 Nov 2013
15 Shane Watson 185* Australia Bangladesh 11 Apr 2011
14 Corey Anderson 131* New Zealand West Indies 1 Jan 2014
12 Mitchel  Marshall 157* West Indies Canada 22 Aug 2008
11 MJ Guptill 237* New Zealand West Indies 21 Match 2015
11 Sanath Jayasuriya 134 Sri Lanka Pakistan 2 Apr 1996
11 Shahid Afridi 102 Pakistan Sri Lanka 4 Oct 1996
11 Denesh Ramdin 169 West Indies Bangladesh 25 Aug 2014
10 MS Dhoni 183* India Sri Lanka 31 Oct 2005
10 Mark Boucher 147* South Africa Zimbabwe 20 Sep 2006
10 Mathew Hayden 181* Australia New Zealand 20 Feb 2007
10 Brendon McCullum 166 New Zealand Ireland 1 Jul 2008
10 Abdul Razzaq 109* Pakistan South Africa 31 Oct 2010
10 Kieron Pollard 119 West Indies India 11 Dec 2011
10 Angelo Mathews 139* Sri Lanka India 16 Nov 2014

Source: Cricinfo